Details

 
Name: Jax
Age: 6 years
Male
View Photos

Email: mauragcyrus@gmail.com
Phone:513-313-7020

Adopters

When you inquire about a dog, the following questions might be helpful:

1. Why are you giving up your dog?

2. Has the dog ever bitten, nipped or 'gone after' anyone?

3. Does it have any health problems? Who is your vet? May I contact him/her?

4. Where did you get the dog? Does it have papers?

5. Does your dog have any training? Is it housebroken? crate trained?

6. Is the dog left alone for long periods? What does it do? Bark? Dig? Chew? Is it an inside or outside dog? Where does it sleep?

7. How does the dog behave with adults, children? Other dogs? Cats?

8. Is your dog mellow? calm? energetic? protective? affectionate?

 

Jax is incredibly beautiful companion on the inside and outside. He’s a very healthy 6.5 yr. old male (neutered), 105lb, beautiful long haired black, purebred German Shepherd dog. He is incredibly affectionate, loves all attention, and is a good home protector. He does great with all people when introduced (even in a loud party setting). However, Jax needs to be rehomed because he has not adjusted well to a San Francisco city life.

The space is small with too many variables that expose him to his “protective triggers” too often, his protective instincts aren’t wrong either (he's not a mean dog). He is startled by frequent unannounced strangers (apartment tenants) coming from units below when I am not home, raccoons, small dogs next door barking aggressively at him, and young neighbors reaching through the fence to try and touch him from places he cannot see. It is just not a safe situation for me to keep him in the city where there are too many events for him to understand if he’s safe.

Jax has lived with my other male 8 yr. old GSD for 5 years and can get along well with dogs but is a case by case situation and generally much better with female submissive dogs he is properly introduced to. Jax would not do well in a dog park/ group play situation. He has no experience being introduced to cats. He is accustomed to being outdoors during the daylight hours but inside at dark. Has basic obedience, good inside manners (no jumping on people/ furniture), training, good on a leash, house trained, and does fine for long car rides. He does not shed much (more hair than fur). Current on all medical and micro-chipped.

Jax would do great with a dedicated and experienced owner in a structured home with a fully fenced yard, and potentially another (female) dog for companionship.

You can also see more of Jax on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/california_big_dogs

Photos